Symptoms….

I’ve been trying so very hard to not think about things and “go with the flow” until scan day which is a week today. It’s so hard but I have been trying my best to keep busy and think about other things.

As I said before, I think the lack of symptoms have massively contributed to my disbelief at the positive beta, so it was heartening to start to get a few symptoms:

  • feeling like I have a massive head cold (headache, unquenchable thirst, tiredness, nausea, inability to think straight / count – yes I actually had to think hard about what number comes between 5 & 7). Ok so I could actually just have a massive head cold, but I’m hoping it is a good sign.
  • inflated (and growing) boobs, and oh boy they hurt! I’m hoping that this means something more than the cyclogest is at work.

Well I say that these symptoms were heartening, that was until this morning when I had some bleeding. It was dark “old blood” which is better than bright red blood, but still it’s a nasty shock. Since then I’ve started to feel a bit crampy again so the fear and worry is starting to build. Realistically I know there’s not much I can do apart from keep on taking the meds and see what happens but it’s such a crappy feeling.

21 thoughts on “Symptoms….

  1. I’ve had a lot of days where I felt completely parched as well, drinking seven or eight glasses in a half day and absolutely requiring one next to me in the middle of the night. Oy! Yeah I keep wondering if the progesterone injections are just creating the symptoms but then my bra is getting quite snug…

    Like

    1. I am using my boobs as a sanity gauge. If they keep growing / feeling plump & firm then it is a good sign that things aren’t going horribly wrong. Sheesh, I wish I could feel happy, relaxed and not worry so much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I’m hoping it will be ok, it just doesn’t do much to help me foster a positive mindset (which I have been struggling with). I am trying to gain strength from others. Knowing what you have been through does give me hope. Thanks xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand the fear that comes with seeing blood, no matter how small. I’ve been spotting for a week now (I’m 6+ weeks), finally had a quick ultrasound that showed a fetus and heartbeat. I hear it’s very common to bleed in the first trimester of IVF pregnancies, but it sucks when it happens to you 😖

    Like

    1. Thanks. Sorry to hear you’ve been experiencing this too but great that you’ve seen a heartbeat! My scan is scheduled for a week. Am trying to keep calm and not freak out before then. Hope your spotting stops soon x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Waiting is so hard (this 3.5 weeks between 7.5 week scan and my follow up at 11 weeks has seemed interminable…) Sometimes I feel more preg than others (including some of the symptoms you mentioned.

    I’m sure any sight of blood is worrying, but I’ve known lots who’ve had spotting with healthy pregnancies

    Like

    1. I felt like I had been coping quite well (mentally speaking) these past few days and today it really feels like the rug has been pulled out from under me. I know so many have bleeding and it turns out to be ok but it’s hard to be objective about it. Good luck for your 11 week scan. I hope it goes really well & you’ll post an update. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First trimester bleeding is THE WORST. You are already on edge and it does nothing to help that even though you know it doesn’t have to mean bad things. I had full on head cold symptoms when I fell with Monkey and I have read they are common so I would def see it as a symptom! And go the growing boobies. Great sign. Wooooop! Hang in there. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks lovely. Am trying to keep my head above water & a sense of humour (it’s hard though!) I have started to use my boobs as a ‘sanity gauge’. If they keep growing / feeling full, I feel slightly less anxious! x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. God, this time is the worst. I feel you. Even reading your post made ME anxious! 😀 I’ll never forget that period in time. While I never had bleeding, the anxiety wondering if the baby would stick was truly intense. Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I never had any early symptoms, not even big boobs, so it’s great you have the ones you have..all a good sign I’d say! Wishing you as much peace of mind as possible in the countdown to scan day. How far will you be along then?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you…. My boobs are my sanity check – if they keep growing then it makes me feel like there’s hope! Am still bleeding and yesterday I really felt like my period was about to come but thankfully it hasn’t. Felt really ill these past few days – spent all of yesterday in bed but that was throat infection so unrelated but it made me feel so sick. Actually every time I have a symptom like feeling sick my husband gives a cheer, lol. Scan day will be 6W6d which doesn’t seem too far away now. x

      Like

  7. I am crossing everything for you! I can’t wait for your scan! I did not have like any symptoms, the boobs were painful, but they tend to get that way anyway, and the pain did go away completely, and all is still good many weeks later. I know how much it sucks not knowing or having anything to really gauge things on, so bring on the scan! Praying for a beautiful scan picture soon!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw Thank you. So glad to see you posted recently. I have been finding ‘screen time’ quite difficult as it makes my head spin (literally not metaphorically!), so I’m not to speed on commenting. Sending hugs your way xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I hope you’re okay. I’m just catching up on posts. Wanted to say I didn’t really feel like I had symptoms, so hopefully it’s the same for you. Sending you lots of love. X

    Like

Comments are closed.